Refuge

Tuesday, 15 November, 2011 Head Cold and Yoga Pants

Leave a comment

I guess it is just as true for “private” blogs as for more public websites, that in order to be successful it is best to have a “bank” of posts pre-assembled before you began.  That way, hiccups in process of “going live” or say, two weeks of viruses won’t put the site “behind.”

Oh, well.  Too late now.

I have this medium-duty head cold – heavy enough that all I want to do is sleep, but not so heavy that sleep is all I can do – and in one of my early am awake and sneezing bouts,  I had this (fabulous) idea for a post.

Ode to My Yoga Pants

Two disclaimers: 1) I don’t do yoga and have no opinion on it, except the one time I tried it (10 mins of free PM Yoga), my elbows hurt for a week. 2) I haven’t and wouldn’t wear them outside of the confines of a house. They are indoor clothing.

Yoga pants are great: not as sloppy-looking as sweat pants and way more comfortable. (Especially because they lack that annoying ankle band that sweat pants have that keep the lowest 10% of my legs from staying warm.) I wish someone had told me about them years ago.

They are the softest, happiest thing  to wear after making a sweaty spectacle of your out of shape self in your own neighborhood running: instant reward for exercising.

Throw a hip-length tunic or shirt over them, and they answer the problem of what to wear when you invited someone over and it’s too late to call it off, but now you’re feeling miserable and at least want your clothing not to add to your misery.  Viola, graceful semi-ethnic outfit, not “I am so miserable, I am slumping around in pajamas/sweats.”

Or, if you are crashing overnight at someone’s house after a business meeting, and you don’t have room in your bag for a ton of clothes, but you don’t want to sit around their house in your uncomfortable formal work clothes and you need something extra warm to sleep in because your friends keep their house extra icy in an attempt to stop (readacted) Gas & Electric from sucking away more than a month’s wages every month: then behold! You can sit around appearing at least semi-presentable in your yoga pants (not pajamas!) and then said yoga pants will keep you nice and warm all night. *

This post has been brought to you by viruses, fever, and the hour 2 (am.)

__________________________________________________________

*What, you’ve never found yourself in any of these scenarios??

Leave a Reply

